Seeking Justice For Devastating Car Accident Injuries
In 2020, there were a suspected 2,721 serious injuries caused by car crashes on Arkansas’ highways, according to a report by the Federal Highway Administration. The pain of an injury is only made worse by the pain of having to pay for medical bills and expensive car repairs. When the accident wasn’t your fault in the first place, it can be difficult to imagine paying all of those bills out of your hard-earned money.
In the worst-case scenario, a loved one is lost in a car accident. These situations are the hardest to bear, especially when the accident could have been prevented if the other driver had not been negligent.
Our team at Cortinez Law Firm is here to help. We have decades of experience fighting for our clients both inside and outside of the courts. Our focus is personal injury law, and we’ll use our extensive knowledge and experience to fight on your behalf. No matter where you come from or who you are, we’re here to serve you and fight for the compensation that will help set things right. We’re proud to represent clients in Little Rock, Arkansas, and throughout central Arkansas.
Liability For Car Accidents in Arkansas
Arkansas is an at-fault insurance state meaning that if a car accident happens, it is the responsibility of the driver who caused or who was at fault for the accident to pay for the costs. The at-fault driver’s insurance will cover the expenses as it’s written in their policy.
Arkansas is also a modified comparative fault state. Any potential settlement you might receive would be reduced by the percentage that the accident was determined to be your fault. For example, if you were going to be awarded $10,000, but the judge or jury determined that the accident was 30% your fault, then you would receive $7,000. However, if the judge or jury decides that the accident was 50% or more your fault, then you cannot receive any compensation.
There are three ways to receive compensation for the financial burdens caused by a car accident: file a claim with your own insurance, file a claim against the at-fault driver or file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
Arkansas Insurance Requirements
All drivers (and motorcycle riders) in Arkansas must have coverage according to the state’s insurance requirements. The minimum liability required to be carried by law is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 to cover property damage to others’ property.
State Laws Addressing Personal Injury Claims
Additional state laws that will apply to your personal injury claim include:
Statute of limitations: Each state has a time limit for when you can file a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver. In Arkansas, that time limit is three years after the date of the accident. Once three years have passed, you can no longer file a personal injury lawsuit in court.
A Life-Changing Accident Does Not Have To Ruin You Financially
A car accident can change your life forever. It can also create serious financial issues. When you’re put in a difficult situation, it’s important to have someone on your side who understands what is at stake. Our team at Cortinez Law Firm will use our decades of experience to help you fight for fair compensation. We’re here to help clients in Little Rock, Benton and all of central Arkansas. Contact us today at 501-574-3244 to schedule your free consultation.